The practice of ordaining laypeople to lead the church at all levels of church government is what distinguishes Presbyterians:  in the New Testament the word for elder is presbuteros (πρεσβύτερος). Presbyterian churches are led by a council of women and men elected by the congregation and installed for three-year terms.  These leaders are ordained as Ruling Elders.  They receive training on church history, polity and the Confessions.  Upon being installed they take vows that are identical to the vows taken by pastors (Teaching Elders). 

There are a few ways you can get involved with the Session:

  • Come to open Session meetings which occur on the 3rd Sunday of each month at 7pm at BPC

  • Contact any of the elders to join their teams. You can do so by clicking on their picture.

  • Become an elder! If you are interested in serving the church in this way please let us know and we would be happy to discuss it further with you.


Ministry Emails

Each ministry at BPC has an email account that is used by the chair of that ministry. If you would like to be involved or have any questions about these ministries please reach out to the ministry chair by way of these email addresses. I know they would love to hear from you! 

If the information you are seeking doesn't fall under one of these categories or you are not sure which ministry is responsible please use the contact page to express your interest and we will be sure to direct you to the correct place!

Want to put a face to a ministry? Keep scrolling to see who is the chairing which ministries!

Adult Education Ministry - AdultEd@blacksburgpres.org

Buildings and Grounds Ministry - buildingsandgrounds@blacksburgpres.org

Children's Ministry - children@blacksburgpres.org

Clerk of Session - Clerk@blacksburgpres.org

Community Ministry - communityministry@blacksburgpres.org

Congregational Care Ministry/Deacons - congregationalcare@blacksburgpres.org 

Endowment and Manna Ministry - Endowment@blacksburgpres.org

Fellowship and Hospitality Ministry - Fellowship@blacksburgpres.org

Personnel Ministry - Personnel@blacksburgpres.org

Membership Ministry - Membership@blacksburgpres.org

Peace, Justice and Global Mission - PJGM@blacksburgpres.org

Stewardship Ministry - stewardship@blacksburgpres.org

University Ministry - university@blacksburgpres.org

Worship Ministry - worship@blacksburgpres.org

Youth Ministry - youth@blacksburgpres.org


  JACK CALL  CLERK OF SESSION

JACK CALL
CLERK OF SESSION

 
 

 

 

 

 

 

Jack Call has served as the Clerk of Session since 2015.


Class of 2019

 Deb Call Chair of Congregational Care

Deb Call
Chair of Congregational Care

  Jama Hayes  CHAIR OF Worship

Jama Hayes
CHAIR OF Worship

  Brian   SMITH  CHAIR OF Buildings and Grounds

Brian SMITH
CHAIR OF Buildings and Grounds

  Peggy Kincaid  CHAIR OF Fellowship and Hospitality

Peggy Kincaid
CHAIR OF Fellowship and Hospitality

 

Peggy Kincaid - Fellowship and Hospitality
Jama Hayes - Worship
Deb Call - Congregational Care
Brian Smith- Buildings and Grounds


CLASS OF 2020

HEATHER POLIKOFF
CHAIR OF CHILDREN’S MINISTRY

JEN STEWART
CHAIR OF ADULT EDUCATION

JIMMY RITTER
CHAIR OF PERSONNEL MINISTRY

NANCY ARTIS
CHAIR OF MEMBERSHIP MINISTRY

ANDREW WARREN
CHAIR OF COMMUNITY MINISTRIES

CLASS OF 2021

SARA HUNTER
CHAIR OF YOUTH MINISTRY

KAREN WATSON
CHAIR OF UNIVERSITY MINISTRY

KENDRA CRABTREE
ACTING CHAIR OF PEACE, JUSTICE, AND GLOBAL MISSION

CHRIS ZOBEL
CHAIR OF ENDOWMENT

SARA WOOLSEY
CHAIR OF STEWARDSHIP